Skip to main content

TMMC South: Toyota Cambridge Plant South

QUICK FACTS

Facilities Cambridge - 3 million sq ft
Woodstock - 1.8 million sq ft
Employment 8,000
Products RX 350, RX 450h
Download the TMMC Fact Sheet Download the TMMC Community Report

South is where we build the Lexus RX 350 and now the RX 450h featuring Lexus Hybrid Drive. TMMC holds the distinction of being the first plant outside of Japan to manufacture a Lexus. South is where we started out building Corolla when the plant first opened, and has been renovated was constructed specifically to build Lexus for this task. It is a world unto itself, brimming with state-of-the-art technology, staffed by specially trained Team Members, and where the pursuit of perfection is carried out with a passion found nowhere else on earth.

MAKING HISTORY

In May, 2000, history was made when Toyota announced that TMMC was chosen as the first plant outside of Japan to manufacture the Lexus luxury brand of vehicles—the RX 330 SUV. Today, TMMC Cambridge South builds the third generation of that model, the RX 350, the most popular in the Lexus lineup, supplying all of North America. And, we’re still making history. On March 26, 2014, TMMC Cambridge also began building the RX 450h.

FROM START TO FINISH

From start to final inspection, it takes approximately 24 hours of elapsed time to assemble a single Lexus RX 350. As each vehicle makes its way through the 1.3 million square feet that make up the South Plant, it will pass from the Body Shop to Paint and then Assembly—where approximately 2000 parts and sub-assemblies are precision-fitted. Along the way, each vehicle will also undergo numerous inspections by both machine and human eye and touch.

THROUGH THE EYES OF THE CUSTOMER

The keys to Lexus brand quality starts with the Lexus mindset: build each vehicle as if it were your own. Team Members themselves are trained to the highest standards in the industry and must be certified in a specific process before they can touch a vehicle on the line. Each process has been designed to ensure that every aspect of a Lexus looks, feels and even sounds like it belongs on a luxury automobile.

95,864

That’s the number of parts the 21 presses in the Press Shop stamp out each day. To make those parts requires over 100 metric tonnes of steel. The dies that perform the ‘cuts’ weigh from 2 to 29 metric tonnes. Those dies will go up and down 172,148 times each day as they produce 216 different parts. In a testament to TMMC’s environmental commitment, not one piece of metal scrap goes to scrap. It is all collected, recycled, and reused.

PAINTING A MASTERPIECE

The Paint Shop is where the luminous finish that is the hallmark of a Lexus vehicle is applied layer by layer—a process that takes more than ten hours. Specifically built for Lexus production, the Paint Shop is hermetically sealed to control dust and airborne particles. Team Members must pass through special ‘air showers’ before entering. All shell bodies are vacuumed by hand and undergo a series of intensive baths in preparation for the application of protective and paint layers that follow.

CHOREOGRAPHED HARMONY

Team Members and robots complement each other at every stage of manufacturing. Robots apply sealant in hard-to-reach areas, while Team Members apply sealant in visible areas with a craftsmanship borne of rigorous training and weekly re-testing. Approximately 240 feet of sealer is applied to each vehicle, sealing and insulating the cabin from the outside environment—protecting against water leaks and creating a library-quiet interior.

WHEN IS A SHOWROOM NOT A SHOWROOM

When it’s in TMMC Cambridge South. Team Members walk through a replica of a Lexus Showroom on the way into the Plant—a reminder of the special nature of the vehicle they’re building. The final inspection line is also reminiscent of a Lexus dealership, complete with polished wooden floors. Inspectors audit 293 items and every vehicle is test driven on a Lexus-exclusive test track to ensure driving perfection before releasing it on its journey to its new owner.

Skip to main content

TMMC Sud : Usine Toyota Cambridge Sud

FAITS EN BREF

Usines Cambridge - 3 millions de pieds carrés
Woodstock - 1,8 millions de pieds carrés
Effectifs 8 000
Produits RX 350, RX 450h
Télécharger la feuille des faits TMMC Download the TMMC Community Report

L’usine Sud abrite les chaînes de montage du Lexus RX 350 et désormais, du RX 450h, qui est équipé du système hybride Lexus. TMMC est la première usine hors du Japon à fabriquer un véhicule Lexus. Initialement équipée pour fabriquer la Corolla, l’usine Sud a été rénovée et transformée pour accueillir les chaînes de montage de Lexus. C’est un monde à part, bardé de technologies de pointe et doté d’équipiers spécialement formés, où la conquête de la perfection est menée avec une passion sans équivalent dans le monde.

UNE PAGE D’HISTOIRE

En mai 2000, une page d’histoire s’est écrite lorsque Toyota a annoncé que TMMC deviendrait la première usine à l’extérieur du Japon à fabriquer un véhicule de luxe de marque Lexus le véhicule utilitaire sport RX 330. Nous fabriquons aujourd’hui à l’usine TMMC Sud à Cambridge la troisième génération de ce modèle, le RX 350, le véhicule le plus populaire de la gamme Lexus, et l’exportons partout en Amérique du Nord. Et nous continuons à écrire l’histoire. Le 26 mars 2014, TMMC Cambridge a commencé à fabriquer le Lexus RX 450h.

DU DÉPART À L’ARRIVÉE

Du début de la construction à l’inspection finale, environ 24 heures sont nécessaires pour assembler un seul Lexus RX 350. Au long de son parcours sur les 1,3 million de pieds carrés constituant l’usine Sud, le véhicule passera de la section de la carrosserie à celle de la peinture, puis à celle de l’assemblage, où environ 2 000 pièces et sous-assemblages sont ajustés. Au long du processus, chaque véhicule subira aussi de nombreuses inspections mécaniques, visuelles et tactiles.

DE L’ŒIL DU CLIENT

La clé de la qualité de marque Lexus, c’est la mentalité Lexus : nous construisons chaque véhicule comme si c’était le nôtre. Les membres de l’équipe eux-mêmes sont formés selon les plus hautes normes de l’industrie et doivent obtenir une certification pour un procédé spécifique avant de toucher quelque véhicule que ce soit sur la chaîne de montage. Chaque procédé a été conçu pour garantir que tous les aspects d’une Lexus – l’apparence, la sensation et même le son – correspondent à ceux d’une automobile de luxe.

95,864

That’s the number of parts the 21 presses in the Press Shop stamp out each day. To make those parts requires over 100 metric tonnes of steel. The dies that perform the ‘cuts’ weigh from 2 to 29 metric tonnes. Those dies will go up and down 172,148 times each day as they produce 216 different parts. In a testament to TMMC’s environmental commitment, not one piece of metal scrap goes to scrap. It is all collected, recycled, and reused.

PEINDRE UN CHEF-D’ŒUVRE

Dans la section de la peinture, le fini lumineux caractéristique d’un véhicule Lexus est appliqué couche par couche, un procédé qui exige plus de dix heures. Cette section, construite spécifiquement pour la production Lexus, est scellée hermétiquement pour contrôler la poussière et les particules en suspension. Les membres de l’équipe doivent prendre une « douche d’air » avant d’y entrer. Toutes les carrosseries sont passées à l’aspirateur à la main et subissent plusieurs bains intensifs pour les préparer à l’application des couches de protection et de peinture qui suivront.

UNE HARMONIE CHORÉGRAPHIÉE

Les membres de l’équipe et les robots se complémentent à toutes les étapes de la fabrication. Les robots appliquent le scellant dans les zones difficiles d’accès, tandis que les membres de l’équipe l’appliquent dans les zones visibles, grâce à une expertise acquise lors d’une formation rigoureuse et d’évaluations hebdomadaires. Chaque véhicule reçoit environ 240 pieds de scellant, ce qui permet de sceller et d’isoler la cabine du milieu extérieur. Cela la protège des fuites d’eau et crée un intérieur aussi paisible qu’une bibliothèque.

UNE SALLE DE MONTRE QUI N’EN EST PAS UNE

Lorsqu’ils circulent dans TMMC Cambridge Sud, les membres de l’équipent traversent la réplique d’une salle de montre Lexus, pour leur rappeler le caractère spécial du véhicule qu’ils construisent. La chaîne d’inspection finale, pourvue de planchers de bois vernis, rappelle aussi une concession Lexus. Les inspecteurs vérifient 293 éléments, et chaque véhicule est testé sur la piste d’essai exclusive de Lexus, pour s’assurer que sa conduite soit parfaite avant qu’il poursuive son chemin vers son nouveau propriétaire.