Skip to main content

TMMC Privacy Policy

Definitions

When you read this Privacy Policy, the following words have the following meanings:

"CAPTIN" means Canadian Autoparts Toyota Inc.

"Dealer" means the Toyota dealer you select, or if you do not select a Toyota dealer, your local Toyota dealer.

"our", "us" and "we" mean Toyota Canada Inc. or TCI, Toyota Credit Canada Inc. (operating as Toyota Financial Services) or TFS, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc. or TMMC, Canadian Autoparts Toyota Inc. or CAPTIN.

"Privacy Policy" means this Privacy Policy.

"Site" means the toyota.ca Internet web site.

"TCI" means Toyota Canada Inc.

"TFS" means Toyota Credit Canada Inc. (operating as Toyota Financial Services).

"TMMC" means Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc.

"you" and "your" means the user of the toyota.ca Internet web site.

Information regarding toyota.ca’s Privacy Practises

This Privacy Policy is designed to protect your personally identifiable information and describes our privacy practises regarding the personally identifiable information we receive from you during your visits to this Site. By providing us with personally identifiable information you accept the terms of this Privacy Policy and consent to allow us to collect, use, disclose and dispose of your personally identifiable information in accordance with the terms of this Privacy Policy. If you do not accept the terms of this Privacy Policy, please do not provide us with any personally identifiable information.

Normal Site usage

You can visit this Site to read product and company information or to use our on-line tools (e.g. vehicle configurator) without telling us who you are or revealing any other personally identifiable information. During normal Site usage, unless you tell us who you are or reveal any other personally identifiable information, we do not collect or store any personally identifiable information about you such as your name, mailing address, email address or phone number. The only information we collect and store during normal Site usage is non-personally identifiable information such as the name of your Internet service provider, the type of the Internet browser you used, the referring web site, the pages you request and the date and time of those requests. We use this non-personally identifiable information to generate aggregate statistics regarding this Site’s activity.

Collection of personally identifiable information

The amount and type of personally identifiable information which you may be asked to provide during visits to this Site depend on how you use this Site. You will only be asked to provide personally identifiable information in order to enable us to provide you with a service (such as sending you a new vehicle brochure, assisting you in contacting a dealer, or enabling you to complete online credit or job applications).

Your Consent to the Disclosure and Use of Personally Identifiable Information

By providing personally identifiable information in your request for a brochure or assistance in contacting a dealer or in your online credit application or online job application you consent to the collection of this personally identifiable information by us.

By providing any personally identifiable information, such as your name, mailing address, email address, vehicle identification number and telephone number and any other personally identifiable information in the contents of any email request you make of us, or in the context of participating in any interactive activities on this Site (such as setting up a personal homepage or completing customer satisfaction surveys) you consent to the collection of this personally identifiable information by us.

By clicking "I Agree" you are giving us permission to collect, disclose to each other and to your Dealer and use all of your personally identifiable information, including information provided to us by third parties in connection with your online credit or job application, for the purposes of completing sales, service and credit transactions with you, responding to your requests for products, services and information, improving our products and services and better understanding your automotive needs, all as described in more detail as follows.

At any time, subject to legal and contractual restrictions, you may withdraw or change your consent to our use of your personally identifiable information or request us to delete it from our files by contacting us at 1-888-Toyota-8.

Unless you request us not to do so, you agree that we may use and disclose to each other and to your Dealer your personally identifiable information for the purposes of selectively including you in those advertising and marketing campaigns designed to increase the awareness of Toyota, Lexus or Scion brand products and services and those advertising and marketing campaigns designed to promote the goodwill associated with our businesses which we believe will be of interest to you. Some of our advertising and marketing campaigns include sending out Toyota, Lexus or Scion newsletters, service reminders and promotional offers. If you would prefer that we do not use your personally identifiable information for such advertising or marketing campaigns, please call 1-888-Toyota 8.

By clicking "I Agree", you agree that we may use, share among us and with your Dealer and disclose to the third parties described below, any or all of the personally identifiable information we have collected to the extent that its use and disclosure are necessary for us, your Dealer and the third parties described to accomplish the following purposes:

  1. If applicable, TCI and your Dealer will use your personally identifiable information to administer your new vehicle warranty coverage, and/or your Extra Care Protection coverage; and as required by law.
  2. TFS may disclose your personally identifiable information to third parties such as credit reporting agencies to assess your application for credit and obtain a credit report about you;
  3. TFS may verify your personally identifiable information with third parties such as your bank and employer, credit reporting agencies and other credit providers to confirm the personally identifiable information you provided to us in support of your application for credit, including employment and banking information, or to update such personally identifiable information;
  4. TFS may exchange your personally identifiable information with credit reporting agencies and other credit providers for the purpose of providing them with information regarding your lease or loan contract;
  5. TFS may disclose your personally identifiable information to third parties such as collection agencies to monitor, service and collect any amounts owed by you to TFS;
  6. TFS may disclose your personally identifiable information to third parties such as banks and brokerage firms to effect a transfer or assignment of TFS’s interest in any lease or loan contract entered into with you, and for the subsequent collection, use and disclosure of your personally identifiable information by such third parties to manage or otherwise deal with your lease or loan contract;
  7. We may use and share your personally identifiable information among us and with your Dealer to respond to your request for products, services or information, improve the quality and efficiency of the services, information and products we provide to you, including asking you, directly or indirectly, through marketing information firms such as J.D. Power and Associates and Maritz Research, to reply to customer satisfaction surveys.

We will share aggregated demographic information about our Site visitors’ traffic patterns, and related information with reputable third-party vendors including our partners and advertisers. This information is not linked to any personally identifiable information of an identifiable individual. Examples include reports on how many times a certain page was viewed, or how many distinct users used this Site.

Cookies

Cookies are files that your web browser places on your computer’s hard drive that permit us to tell whether, and if so, how many times, you have accessed this Site previously, your language of choice, your computer system’s flash preference, and your selected Toyota dealer.

Links

This Privacy Policy applies solely to information collected by this Site. This Site contains links to other sites. When you click on links that take you to third party web sites, you will be subject to the third parties’ privacy policies. While we support the protection of privacy on the Internet, we are not responsible for the actions of third parties or for their privacy practises. We encourage the users of this Site to be aware when they leave this Site and to read the privacy policies of each and every web site with which they interact.

Security

This Site is secured using Entrust SSL certificates which applies security sockets layer software encryption technology to all information that you submit to us through this Site. Except as required for compliance with the Entrust Certificate Management Service, we do not make any representations, warranties or conditions of any kind, express or implied, as to the security of any information (including, without limitation, credit card and other personally identifiable information) you may provide to us in the course of using this Site. You are solely responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password(s).

Retention of Personally Identifiable Information

We retain personally identifiable information for the period of time required to fulfil the purpose for which it was collected and for a period of time thereafter.

Contact Us to Review, Update or Delete Collected Information or Change or Withdraw Your Consent

You may review and update or correct the personally identifiable information that you provide to us through this Site, request it be deleted, or change or withdraw your consent to its use and disclosure, by contacting us as described below:

TCI  —  Privacy Directors at 1-888-Toyota 8

TFS  —  Privacy Officer at 1-888-Toyota 8

TMMC  —  Privacy Officer at 1-888-Toyota 8

Your personal information will be kept in files stored on our databases located in Toronto, Ontario, and if you choose to apply for online credit your file will also be kept by TFS at its head office in Markham, Ontario.

Questions or Concerns

If you have any questions or concerns about our privacy policies and procedures or about your personally identifiable information, or if you want further information about our privacy policies and procedures, please contact us as indicated above.

Children

We do not use this Site to knowingly solicit personally identifiable information from or to market to persons under the age of majority.

Changes to our Privacy Policy

We reserve the right, at any time, to modify this Privacy Policy at our sole discretion, and you agree to be bound by any such modifications. Such modifications shall be effective immediately upon our giving notice, which may be given by any means, including, but not limited to, posting on this Site. You agree to regularly review the Privacy Policy posted at this Site and to be aware of such modifications. Your use of this Site following any such modification constitutes your acceptance of the modified Privacy Policy. If at any time, this Privacy Policy is no longer acceptable to you, you should immediately cease to submit any personally identifiable information to this Site.

Information about Phishing Scams

There have been noticeable increases in the number of suspicious e-mails claiming that the e-mail recipient has won a Toyota lottery or other promotion. Sometimes the e-mail claims that the recipient has won a new Toyota Prius. In order to claim the prize, the e-mail asks that personal information (i.e. Full Name, Address, Nationality, Age, Gender, Occupation, Phone/Fax, and/or Country of Residence) be sent to a Hotmail or Yahoo e-mail address. Samples of these hoax e-mails can be found at the following web site: http://www.hoax-slayer.com/toyota-car-promotions-scam.shtml. Note that these examples of the "phishing" hoax e-mails were not prepared by Toyota, all information and names contained in the hoax e-mails are fictitious, and any similarity to the names of actual people, including Toyota personnel, is entirely coincidental. This type of e-mail solicitation is known commonly as a "phishing" scam, with the primary objective being to obtain one’s personal information. This information can then be utilized to steal a person’s identity. For example, a "Toyota Lottery" phishing scam is often sent from Chinese (.cn), German (.de) or British (.co.uk) addresses but can originate from anywhere and look very official even to the most savvy of Internet users. Neither Toyota nor any other reputable business will ever ask you for personal information through an unsolicited e-mail. Recipients of suspicious e-mail like this should delete the message from their in-box and, if possible, update their e-mail filter settings to block e-mails from the e-mail address being used.

Skip to main content

TMMC Politique de confidentialité

Définitions

Dans cette politique de confidentialité, les termes suivants ont la signification suivante :

« CAPTIN » signifie Pièces d’automobiles du Canada, Toyota Inc.

« Concessionnaire » signifie le concessionnaire Toyota que vous sélectionnez ou, si vous ne sélectionnez pas de concessionnaire Toyota, votre concessionnaire Toyota local.

« nous », « notre » et « nos » signifient Toyota Canada Inc. ou TCI, Toyota Crédit Canada Inc. (exploité sous le nom de Toyota Services Financiers) ou TFS, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc. ou TMMC, Pièces d’automobiles du Canada, Toyota Inc. ou CAPTIN.

« Politique de confidentialité » signifie la présente Politique de confidentialité.

« Site » signifie le site Web toyota.ca.

« TCI » signifie Toyota Canada Inc.

« TSF » signifie Toyota Crédit Canada Inc. (exploité sous le nom de Toyota Services Financiers).

« TMMC » signifie Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc.

« vous », « votre » et « vos » signifient l’utilisateur du site Web toyota.ca.

Information relative aux pratiques de confidentialité de toyota.ca

Cette Politique de confidentialité a pour but de protéger vos renseignements personnellement identifiables et de décrire nos pratiques de confidentialité concernant les renseignements personnellement identifiables que vous nous fournissez lors de vos visites sur ce Site. En nous fournissant vos renseignements personnellement identifiables, vous acceptez les conditions de cette Politique de confidentialité et vous autorisez la collecte, l’utilisation, la communication et l’élimination de vos renseignements personnellement identifiables selon les conditions de cette Politique de confidentialité. Si vous n’acceptez pas les conditions de la présente Politique, ne fournissez pas de renseignements personnellement identifiables.

Utilisation normale du site

Vous pouvez visiter ce Site pour vous renseigner sur les produits et la compagnie ou pour utiliser les outils en ligne (p. ex., l’outil de configuration des véhicules) sans nous dire qui vous êtes ni nous révéler d’autres renseignements personnellement identifiables. Pendant l’utilisation normale du Site, et sauf si vous nous dites qui vous êtes ou si vous nous révélez d’autres renseignements personnellement identifiables, nous nous engageons à ne pas collecter ni stocker d’autres renseignements qui vous identifient personnellement, tels que vos nom, adresse postale, adresse de courriel ou numéro de téléphone. Les seuls renseignements que nous collectons et stockons pendant l’utilisation normale du Site sont des renseignements à caractère non personnel tels que le nom de votre fournisseur Internet, le type de navigateur Internet que vous utilisez, le site Web de référence, les pages que vous demandez et la date et l’heure de ces demandes. Nous utilisons ces renseignements pour rassembler des statistiques sur l’activité du Site.

Collecte de renseignements personnellement identifiables

La quantité et le type de renseignements personnellement identifiables que vous serez amené à nous fournir pendant vos visites sur ce Site dépendent de votre utilisation du Site. On vous demandera de fournir des renseignements personnellement identifiables uniquement pour nous permettre de vous offrir un service (comme par exemple pour vous envoyer une brochure sur un nouveau modèle de véhicule, pour vous aider à contacter un concessionnaire ou vous aider à remplir une demande de crédit ou d’emploi en ligne).

Votre consentement à la communication et à l’utilisation de renseignements personnellement identifiables

En fournissant des renseignements personnellement identifiables dans votre demande de brochure ou d’assistance pour contacter un concessionnaire, ou dans votre demande de crédit en ligne, ou votre demande d’emploi en ligne, vous nous autorisez à collecter ces renseignements personnellement identifiables.

En fournissant des renseignements personnellement identifiables, tels que vos nom, adresse postale, adresse de courriel, numéro d’identification du véhicule ou numéro de téléphone, et tout autre renseignement personnellement identifiable dans le contenu d’une demande par courriel que vous nous faites parvenir, ou dans le cadre de votre participation à des activités interactives sur ce Site (comme par exemple la création d’une page d’accueil personnelle ou la participation à une enquête de satisfaction de la clientèle), vous nous autorisez à collecter ces renseignements personnellement identifiables.

En cliquant sur « J’accepte », vous nous donnez la permission de collecter, de communiquer entre nous et à votre concessionnaire, et d’utiliser vos renseignements personnellement identifiables, y compris les renseignements qui nous ont été fournis par des tierces parties en relation avec votre demande de crédit ou votre demande d’emploi en ligne, que ce soit pour conclure une transaction de vente, de service ou de crédit avec vous, pour répondre à votre demande de renseignements, de produit ou de service, pour améliorer nos produits et services et mieux comprendre vos besoins automobiles, tel qu’il est décrit en détail ci-après.

À tout moment, sous réserve de restrictions légales et contractuelles, vous pouvez annuler ou modifier votre consentement à l’utilisation de vos renseignements personnellement identifiables ou nous demander de supprimer ces renseignements de nos fichiers en nous contactant au 1 888 Toyota-8.

Sauf si vous nous demandez de ne pas le faire, vous nous autorisez à utiliser et communiquer vos renseignements personnels entre nous et à votre concessionnaire afin de vous inclure sélectivement dans les campagnes de marketing ou de publicité destinées à accroître la notoriété des produits et services de marque Toyota, Lexus ou Scion ainsi que dans les campagnes de marketing et de publicité visant à promouvoir la cote d’estime associée à nos activités et susceptibles de vous intéresser. Certaines de nos campagnes de marketing et de publicité comprennent l’envoi de bulletins d’information Toyota, Lexus ou Scion, des rappels de service et des offres promotionnelles. Si vous préférez que nous n’utilisions pas vos renseignements personnellement identifiables pour nos campagnes de marketing ou de publicité, veuillez appeler le 1 888 Toyota-8.

En cliquant sur « J’accepte », vous nous autorisez à utiliser, partager entre nous et avec votre concessionnaire et à communiquer aux tierces parties décrites ci-dessous, la totalité ou une partie des renseignements personnellement identifiables que nous avons collectés dans la mesure où leur utilisation et leur communication nous sont nécessaires, à votre concessionnaire et aux tierces parties décrites pour accomplir ce qui suit :

  1. Le cas échéant, TCI et votre concessionnaire utiliseront vos renseignements personnellement identifiables pour administrer la garantie de votre véhicule neuf et/ou votre couverture de Protection Extra-Attentive; et comme la loi l’exige.
  2. TSF pourra communiquer vos renseignements personnellement identifiables à des tierces parties, comme par exemple des agences d’évaluation du crédit, afin d’évaluer votre demande de crédit et d’obtenir un rapport de solvabilité sur vous;
  3. TSF pourra vérifier vos renseignements personnellement identifiables auprès de tierces parties telles que votre banque et votre employeur, des agences d’évaluation du crédit et d’autres fournisseurs de crédit afin de confirmer les renseignements personnellement identifiables que vous nous avez fournis pour appuyer votre demande de crédit, y compris des renseignements bancaires et professionnels, ou pour actualiser de tels renseignements;
  4. TSF pourra communiquer vos renseignements personnellement identifiables à des agences d’évaluation du crédit et d’autres fournisseurs de crédit afin de leur fournir des renseignements concernant votre contrat de location ou de financement;
  5. TSF pourra communiquer vos renseignements personnellement identifiables à des tierces parties telles que des agences de recouvrement afin de surveiller, gérer et collecter les sommes que vous devez à TSF;
  6. TSF pourra communiquer vos renseignements personnellement identifiables à des tierces parties, telles que banques et sociétés de courtage, dans le but de transférer ou de céder l’intérêt de TSF portant sur un contrat de location ou de financement conclu avec vous, et pour la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication subséquentes de vos renseignements personnellement identifiables par des tierces parties afin de gérer ou de traiter votre contrat de prêt ou de location;
  7. Nous pourrons utiliser et communiquer vos renseignements personnellement identifiables entre nous et avec votre concessionnaire pour répondre à votre demande de produits, de services ou de renseignements, pour améliorer la qualité et l’efficacité des services, des renseignements et des produits que nous vous fournissons, y compris pour vous demander, directement ou indirectement, par l’intermédiaire de cabinets d’études de marketing tels que J.D. Power and Associates et Maritz Research, de répondre à des enquêtes de satisfaction de la clientèle.

Nous partagerons l’information démographique concernant les tendances des visiteurs de notre Site et toute information afférente avec des fournisseurs tiers fiables, y compris nos partenaires et nos publicitaires. Cette information n’est pas associée aux renseignements personnellement identifiables d’une personne identifiable. Il s’agit par exemple de rapports sur le nombre de consultations d’une page ou du nombre d’utilisateurs ayant visité le Site.

Témoins

Les témoins sont des fichiers placés sur le disque dur de votre ordinateur par le navigateur Web afin de nous indiquer combien de fois, le cas échéant, vous avez accédé à ce site, ainsi que la langue de votre choix, le flash que vous avez choisi pour votre ordinateur et le concessionnaire Toyota que vous avez sélectionné.

Liens

Cette Politique de confidentialité s’applique uniquement aux renseignements collectés par ce Site. Ce Site contient des liens vers d’autres sites. Lorsque vous cliquez sur des liens qui vous transfèrent vers des sites Web de tierces parties, vous devez adhérer à la politique de confidentialité propre à chaque Site. Bien que nous soyons en faveur de la protection de la vie privée sur l’Internet, nous ne sommes pas responsables des actions ou des pratiques de ces tierces parties en matière de confidentialité. Nous encourageons donc les utilisateurs de ce Site à faire attention quand ils quittent ce Site et à bien lire les politiques de chaque site Web qu’ils visitent.

Sécurité

Ce site est sécurisé à l’aide de certificats SSL (Security Sockets Layer) Entrust qui implique l’application d’une technologie d’encodage de sécurité informatique à tous les renseignements que vous nous confiez par le biais de ce site. Hormis pour répondre aux exigences du service de gestion des certificats Entrust, nous ne faisons aucune représentation, garantie ou condition de quelque sorte que ce soit, expresse ou implicite, quant à la sécurité des renseignements (ce qui comprend, mais sans s’y limiter, les cartes de crédit et autres renseignements personnellement identifiables) que vous nous fournirez en utilisant ce site. C’est vous qui assumez l’entière responsabilité d’assurer la confidentialité de votre (vos) mot(s) de passe.

Rétention de renseignements personnellement identifiables

Nous ne conservons vos renseignements personnellement identifiables que pendant le temps nécessaire pour satisfaire le but pour lequel ils ont été collectés et pendant une courte période au-delà.

Contactez-nous pour consulter, actualiser ou supprimer les renseignements collectés ou modifier ou annuler votre consentement

Vous pouvez consulter et actualiser ou corriger les renseignements personnellement identifiables que vous nous fournissez sur ce Site, demander qu’ils soient supprimés, ou modifier ou annuler votre consentement relativement à leur utilisation et leur divulgation en nous contactant au numéros ci-dessous :

TCI  —  Directeurs de la confidentialité : 1 888 Toyota-8

TSF  —  Agent de la confidentialité : 1 888 Toyota-8

TMMC  —  Agent de la confidentialité : 1 888 Toyota-8

Vos renseignements personnels seront conservés dans des fichiers stockés sur nos bases de données à Toronto (Ontario); si vous choisissez de demander un crédit en ligne, votre dossier sera également conservé au siège social de TSF à Markham (Ontario).

Questions ou préoccupations

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant nos politiques et procédures de confidentialité ou sur vos renseignements personnellement identifiables, ou si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples informations sur nos politiques et procédures de confidentialité, contactez-nous aux numéros ci-dessus.

Enfants

Nous n’utilisons pas ce Site pour solliciter délibérément des renseignements personnellement identifiables ou adresser nos campagnes de marketing à des personnes n’ayant pas l’âge de la majorité.

Modifications à notre politique de confidentialité

Nous nous réservons le droit, à tout moment et à notre entière discrétion, de modifier cette Politique de confidentialité et vous vous engagez à adhérer à ces modifications. Ces modifications seront applicables dès la publication de notre avis, qui pourra être effectuée par n’importe quel moyen, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, l’affichage sur ce Site. Vous acceptez de consulter régulièrement la Politique de confidentialité affichée sur ce Site pour prendre connaissance d’éventuelles modifications. Le fait que vous utilisiez ce Site après de telles modifications signifie que vous acceptez la Politique de confidentialité modifiée. Si, à tout moment, cette Politique de confidentialité n’est plus acceptable pour vous, vous devez cesser immédiatement de soumettre des renseignements personnellement identifiables sur ce Site.

Information sur l’hameçonnage

On observe une augmentation importante du nombre de courriels suspects annonçant aux destinataires qu’ils ont gagné une loterie ou une promotion Toyota. Certains courriels affirment même que les destinataires ont gagné une Toyota Prius neuve. Pour recevoir leur prix, les destinataires sont invités par le courriel à envoyer leurs renseignements personnels (nom, prénom, adresse, nationalité, âge, sexe, profession, no de téléphone/télécopieur et pays de résidence) à une adresse Hotmail ou Yahoo. Vous trouverez des exemples de ces faux courriels sur le site Web suivant : http://www.hoax-slayer.com/toyota-car-promotions-scam.shtml. Ces exemples de courriels hameçons n’ont pas été préparés par Toyota, tous les noms et renseignements contenus dans ces faux courriels sont fictifs et toute ressemblance avec les noms de personnes existantes, y compris parmi le personnel de Toyota, est purement fortuite. Ce type de démarchage par courriel est généralement appelé « hameçonnage » ou « escroquerie par hameçonnage ». Son objectif principal est d’obtenir des renseignements personnels. Ces renseignements peuvent ensuite être utilisés à des fins d’usurpation d’identité. Par exemple, un hameçonnage « Loterie Toyota » est souvent envoyé par des adresses chinoises (.cn), allemandes (.de) ou britanniques (.co.uk) mais peut provenir de n’importe quel endroit et être suffisamment professionnel pour tromper les internautes les plus expérimentés. Ni Toyota ni aucune entreprise respectable ne vous demandera jamais de communiquer vos renseignements personnels par le biais d’un courriel non sollicité. Il est recommandé aux destinataires de courriels suspects d’effacer les messages de leur boîte de courriel et, si possible, de mettre à jour les paramètres de filtre de sécurité de leur courriel pour bloquer les messages provenant des adresses utilisées pour l’envoi de courriels hameçons.